1 good thing, 1 bad thing

dear world,

today began at 5:46am when V decided she was all done sleeping and ready for breakfast. not a big deal, we went downstairs for some banana and cereal- milk for V, coffee for me. the day started off a little early, but normal enough.

mid-morning, i received a call from a friend and learned that her newborn baby is in the NICU. he’s less than 1 month old and it is very serious. my daughter came into the world a little early and spent the first 6 weeks of her life in the NICU. for me, i struggled to share my experience during her stay in the hospital because while i knew of people who had a similar experience, none were my peers. no one in my direct circle had ever encountered a situation like this. so i didn’t share.

what i hope to offer this new mom is a listening ear and whatever answers i can give. if she has questions, i hope i can guide her through. if she just needs to talk, i will be quiet and let her get it all out. the ferocity of emotion i lived through took me aback. i can only imagine how she’s feeling.

the good thing happened after i got home from work. a friend of ours is travelling for a week and we’re in charge of eating her vegetables while she’s gone- MHM and V took a trip to our friend’s garden and picked all the ripe tomatoes they could find. MHM made homemade tomato sauce with the tomatoes from her garden and fresh basil from our garden.

there is nothing like tomato sauce made with summer tomatoes.

it was a long day with serious ups and downs. we’ve stocking the new parents’ freezer with healthy food that won’t spoil so when they are home for 10 minutes at least they don’t have to worry about what’s for dinner. i hope it helps- it certainly helped us.

sincerely,

cm

1 Response to “1 good thing, 1 bad thing”


  1. 1 Momma Such August 6, 2009 at 7:53 pm

    Those are all great products! I couldn’t live without my coffee maker and when I was younger I hated coffee. I actually don’t think I started to drink it until after I had kids.


Leave a Reply

archives


